Constant Contact

Zoe Photo: D Slotto

Zoe
Photo: D Slotto

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to don, once again, my nursing persona. My husband has had major surgery that leaves him in need of pretty constant attention–ergo, the scarcity with which I’ve been present in the blogosphere.

My responsibilities include our dogs–that means 3-4 walks daily as our home borders on a golf course without a yard. Zoe, a Jack Russell mix, is deaf, and true to the spirit of her breed, excitable (understatement). That gives me a lot of opportunity to practice patience–not exactly my forte.

A while back, I began asking for help during my morning prayer time, and sometimes more often. To some extent it helped. At first it seemed like she ignored joggers and golf carts and other distractions that typically set her off or even that these kinds of events diminished in number. But was short-lived. The reality is, being deaf, she startles easily and is afraid. So I pick her up and hold her close.

A couple of days ago, I happened to view an ad for the social media website, Constant Contact. That was when I realized that a quick prayer in the morning isn’t going to cut it, but rather, I need to maintain a constant contact with the Source of strength. Not only that,  it’s not about Zoe and her overreaction, but about me and my  learning and accepting the gift of patience in such situations.

I’ve got a long way to go–both in terms of patience and in remembering to ask for that help, to plug into the Divine Healer, in order to become all He wants me to be. Oh, and that Constant Contact applies to so much more than this tiny problem.

Image: bridgepointchurch.org

Image: bridgepointchurch.org

2 thoughts on “Constant Contact

  1. Mary says:

    Oh yes, good reminder….we have to stay in constant contact with the Power Source…rather than just an occasional plug-in!

    Like

  2. lynn__ says:

    A wonderful picture of the security and love felt when we’re in “constant contact” with our Lord. Thanks for this reminder to stay “plugged in” to our power source! Prayers for you and your husband as he recovers…

    Like

I welcome your comment and questions and will do my best to return a visit to your blog.

