God With/In

Image: Micha Eldridge

Image: Micha Eldridge

In Advent, one of the names of God that comes to mind is Emmanuel–God with us. As I consider the many promises of Jesus as God-With-Us comes to mind. He came to complete us, reminding us that the Kingdom is Within.

Often, it helps me to visualize Jesus sitting beside me–when I pray, this morning at Mass, even riding shotgun when I drove to the mall to grab a couple of stocking-stuffers earlier today. But how much more powerful is the realization that He dwells within. As St. Paul asks in I Corinthians 6:9

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own?

Yikes. That’s a lot to take in!

  • What do you do to remember your indwelling Guest?
  • How does remembering that affect behavior?
  • Which resonates most for you: with, within or with/in?

I have a creative mind that loves to jump all the place (I think they would diagnose me with ADD these days–it was not recognized when I was a child.) I would be so grateful if a you would offer me a quick and easy “cure” for my flightiness–something to help me home in on God With/In all day long.

May you live a beautiful continuance of Advent.

Photo: V. Slotto

Photo: V. Slotto

2 thoughts on “God With/In

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Have always like the use of “Emmanuel” … lovely post, Victoria, and thanks for the Christmas card and not. All good news and sweet to hear from you.

    Like

  2. I thought it an interesting point to make about your flightiness for if you were to link it to your earlier point about Jesus sitting with you, if he was he would probably like to chat with you as you are.
    We are who we are Victoria, I doubt if there is a cure as such as it would change the beautiful person you are. Have a good day.

    Like

I welcome your comment and questions and will do my best to return a visit to your blog.

