Finding God…in Walmart?!

Yesterday morning I awoke with a subtle sense of dread. I realized that I’d made a huge mistake in postponing a necessary trip to Wal-Mart to buy sodas for my husband, David, who would be returning home this weekend after an extended absence. It was non-negotiable–the store’s Fuji Apple calorie-free stuff was important to him and it was a small way to show my love and happiness at having him home.

Photo: abcnews.com

Photo: abcnews.com

I’m not a shopper–really. I’m a bit crowd-phobic or something and the thought of Friday afternoon at a store that’s crazy any day of the week seemed like the equivalent of a death wish to me.

God set me straight. A short while later I sat down with the dogs for my morning time  and here’s what I got, courtesy of Luke: “Many people were crowding together.” Luke 12 1-7. After a busy day of healing, teaching and casting out demons, Jesus is trying his best to get out-of-town, but the people trampled one another trying to get close to him. And what did Jesus do? He told them that they all had great worth in God’s eyes.

Clearly, there was the answer to my self-imposed misery. I always go to Wal-Mart, Costco and places like that with the attitude that I’m going to battle, an encounter with people who are out to get me. I don an attitude of aggression. So I decided to shop with the mind of Jesus–to smile at others and silently bless them. Especially those who blocked aisles, ran into me or…you know the rest. I actually looked forward to it.

And then the miraculous happened. I got to Wal-Mart–the parking lot was full, as usual, but I found a place almost up front. I got a cart that only drifted a little to the right. I walked down a fairly clear aisle to the back to pick up those sodas and a few other items. I went to the check stand and found one without anyone in line, checked out, paid and got out of the place in about 15 minutes.

I’m still scratching my head. That has never happened to me. So, what is God telling me? Two things, I think. First, changing my attitude can change outcomes. Second, he didn’t want me to fall flat on my face the first time I try this.

Have a happy weekend, everyone. Especially if you go to Wal-Mart!

10 thoughts on “Finding God…in Walmart?!

  1. Shawna says:

    What a great post … especially “only drifted a little to the right” and “changing my attitude can change outcomes.” If I dare go to WalMart, I do it early in the morning. At any other time, it’s a madhouse. I too am crowd-phobic.

    My “creative blog” is linked to my name here, but if you’re interested in my “Jesus blog,” it’s here: joyisnotanemotion.blogspot.com.

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Well, I wonder if your attitude before visiting Walmart had anything to do with your good fortune. Who knows, really. I feel the same before going to Walmart really. I would much rather shop at Target, as I find everything there more efficient and well organized….and, in this area anyway, I find the employees more friendly and helpful.

    Like

  3. wolfsrosebud says:

    ah… this old JOY J-Jesus first, O-ours next, Y-you last… totally understand shopping at 6 am instead of 6 pm

    Like

  4. brian miller says:

    changing my attitude will change the outcome….whole lot of truth in that v….

    Like

  5. It’s in commotion where we find peace, in pain where we find comfort, in storms where we find God…

    Like

I welcome your comment and questions and will do my best to return a visit to your blog.

